logo

Structural funds

In the current 2014-2020* funding period, Carinthia receives around EUR 56.8 million from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) to spend on investments in growth and employment to promote research, technological development and innovation, SMEs and for the transition to low carbon economy through renewable energies and energy efficiency. Austria receives around 536 million euros from the ERDF.


In the period 2014-2020, Carinthia also continued to participate in the programmes for European Territorial Cooperation "Italy-Austria" and "Slovenia-Austria" and received ERDF funding of around 23.8 million for cross-border projects . Around EUR 257.3 million is available for this throughout Austria.


In the 2014-2020 funding period, Carinthia receives around EUR 8.7 million from the European Social Fund (ESF) to combat poverty and around EUR 1.7 million to promote educational measures in the area of ​​basic education and compulsory schooling. In total Austria receives around EUR 442 million from the ESF.


In total, Carinthia will receive EU funding from the ERDF and ESF amounting to around 91 million euros in 2014-2020, and around 1.235 billion euros across Austria.


During this funding period, Carinthia has around 362 million euros available for rural development from the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD). In Carinthia, for example Organic agriculture, mountain farmers, business investments (e.g. stable construction), rural infrastructure (e.g. alpine roads) or broadband expansion are supported.


Around 10.76 million euros from these EAFRD funds are reserved for "social affairs" for the first time in 2014-2020. This means that investments in childcare facilities, psychosocial and psychiatric facilities for children and adolescents, nursing and care facilities as well as workshops for people with disabilities are undertaken. Furthermore facilities and residential buildings which meet the care and housing needs of children, of people with disabilities or individuals with special needs as well as accesibility for the elderly to these facilities are funded. Other funding items include investments in mobile services, hardware and software, including software developments in the area of ​​social services, and the need-based development and expansion of infrastructures in the area of ​​outpatient health services.


Around 19.68 million euros from the EAFRD funds are reserved for LEADER projects, i.e. for project ideas that come from the local population in order to maintain and improve the quality of life in rural areas. Active partnerships in the form of local action groups accept the project proposals if they fit into the area-based local development strategy, which is based on the needs of the community. They are projects that are developed “from below” and not “from above”, the people on site are the decision-makers.


In addition, Carinthia receives around EUR 350 million in agricultural subsidies in the form of direct payments and market organisation measures.


Carinthia thus receives a total of around 712 million euros in EU funds available from the EU agricultural policy 2014-2020, in all of Austria the amount received is around 8.8 billion euros (direct payments around 4.9 billion euros, rural development around 3,9 billion euros).


* Note: The figures are mere EU funds. Funding from the European Structural and Investment Funds (ESIF) is granted by the European Commission to Austria in from of co-financing within the framework of the EU regional policy and is topped up with additional funds from the federal and regional governments of Carinthia. These co-financing rates are fund or programme dependent.


Points of contact for structural funds in Carinthia

logo

strukturfonds

In der aktuellen Finanzierungsperiode 2014-2020* stehen Kärnten aus dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) rund 56,8 Mio. Euro für Investitionen in Wachstum und Beschäftigung zur Förderung von Forschung, technologischer Entwicklung und Innovation und KMU sowie für den Übergang auf eine CO2-arme Wirtschaft durch Erneuerbare Energien und Energieeffizienz zur Verfügung. Österreichweit stehen aus dem EFRE hier rund 536 Mio. Euro zur Verfügung.


Kärnten ist in der Periode 2014-2020 außerdem wie bisher an den Programmen zur Europäischen Territorialen Zusammenarbeit „Italien-Österreich“ sowie „Slowenien-Österreich“ beteiligt und erhält hier Fördergelder aus dem EFRE in der Höhe von rund 23,8 Mio. für grenzüberschreitende Projekte. Österreichweit stehen dafür rund 257,3 Mio. Euro zur Verfügung.


Kärnten stehen in der Finanzierungsperiode 2014-2020 aus dem Europäischen Sozialfonds (ESF) rund 8,7 Mio. Euro zur Armutsbekämpfung und rund 1,7 Mio. Euro zur Förderung von Bildungsmaßnahmen im Bereich der Basisbildung sowie zum Nachholen des Pflichtschulabschlusses zur Verfügung. Österreichweit stehen aus dem ESF rund 442 Mio. Euro zur Verfügung.


Insgesamt stehen Kärnten damit 2014-2020 EU-Förderungen aus EFRE und ESF in der Höhe von rund 91 Mio. Euro zur Verfügung, österreichweit sind es rund 1,235 Milliarden Euro.


Für die ländliche Entwicklung stehen Kärnten in dieser Förderperiode rund 362 Mio. Euro an Mitteln aus dem Europäischen Landwirtschaftsfonds für die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums (ELER) zur Verfügung. Damit werden in Kärnten z.B. Biolandwirtschaft, Bergbauern, Betriebsinvestitionen (z.B. Stallbau), ländliche Infrastruktur (z.B. Almstraßen) oder der Breitbandausbau unterstützt.


Rund 10,76 Mio. Euro aus diesen ELER-Mitteln sind 2014-2020 erstmals für „Soziale Angelegenheiten“ reserviert. Damit werden Investitionen in Kinderbetreuungseinrichtungen, psychosoziale und psychiatrische Einrichtungen für Kinder und Jugendliche, Pflege- und Betreuungseinrichtungen sowie Werkstätten für Menschen mit Beeinträchtigungen, Einrichtungen und Wohnbauten zur Deckung des Betreuungs- und Wohnbedarfs von Kindern, Menschen mit Beeinträchtigung oder in besonderen Notlagen sowie älteren Menschen und der barrierefreie Zugang zu diesen Einrichtungen gefördert. Weitere Fördergegenstände sind Investitionen in mobile Dienste, die Hard- und Software, einschließlich Softwareentwicklungen im Bereich sozialer Dienstleistungen sowie der bedarfsorientierte Auf- und Ausbau von Infrastrukturen im Bereich der ambulanten Gesundheitsdienstleistungen.


Rund 19,68 Mio. Euro aus den ELER-Mitteln sind für LEADER-Projekte reserviert, also für Projektideen, die von der lokalen Bevölkerung kommen, um die Lebensqualität im ländlichen Raum zu erhalten und zu verbessern. Aktive Partnerschaften in Form von Lokalen Aktionsgruppen nehmen die Projektvorschläge an, wenn sie in die gebietsbezogene lokale Entwicklungsstrategie passen, die sich am Bedarf der Gemeinde orientiert. Es sind Projekte, die „von unten“ entwickelt und nicht „von oben“ aufgezwungen werden, die Menschen vor Ort sind die Entscheidungsträger.


Zusätzlich fließen Agrarförderungen in der Höhe von rund 350 Mio. Euro in Form von Direktzahlungen und Marktordnungsmaßnahmen nach Kärnten.


Kärnten stehen damit aus der EU-Agrarpolitik 2014-2020 insgesamt rund 712 Mio. Euro an EU-Mitteln zur Verfügung, in ganz Österreich sind es 8,8 Mrd. Euro (Direktzahlungen rund 4,9 Mrd. Euro, ländliche Entwicklung rund 3,9 Mrd. Euro).


* Anmerkung: Bei den Zahlen handelt es sich um reine EU-Mittel. Die Förderungen aus den Europäischen Struk-tur- und Investitionsfonds (ESIF) werden im Rahmen der EU-Regionalpolitik von der Europäischen Kommission an Österreich als Ko-Finanzierungen vergeben und werden noch mit weiteren Mitteln des Bundes und des Landes Kärnten aufgestockt. Diese Ko-Finanzierungsraten sind fonds- bzw. programmabhängig.