the european committee of the regions


The European Committee of the Regions has an advisory role and issues opinions on all legislative acts with a regional dimension. This concerns about two thirds of EU legislation. Plenary sessions of the CoR take place six times a year. The opinions, reports and resolutions of the CoR, which are adopted in plenary sessions, are prepared by six commissions, which also meet five times a year. Carinthia is represented in two commissions - the Commission for Economic Policy (ECON) and the Commission for Social Policy, Education, Employment, Research and Culture (SEDEC). The CoR’s other commissions are CIVEX (Commission for Citizenship, Governance, Institutional Affairs and External Relations), COTER (Commission for Territorial Cohesion Policy and EU Budget), ENVE (Commission for Environment, Climate Change and Energy) and NAT (Commission for Natural Resources).

Meetings Calendar of the CoR

Facts about the CoR:




• 329 members + 329 deputies

• 12 Austrian members + 12 deputies

• 6 commissions

• 5 plenary sessions per year