logo

eu transport policy

EU transport policy helps to keep the European economy going by developing a modern infrastructure network that makes travel faster and safer, while promoting environmentally friendly and digital solutions. As a cornerstone of European integration, transport is crucial to achieving the free movement of goods, services and people.


Since relevant decisions in the field of transport policy are taken at European level, lobbying at EU level is also of central importance in this area. For years, a particularly important transport, environmental and economic policy issue for the region of Carinthia has been the Baltic-Adriatic axis project with the Koralm Railway at its core. It is not least thanks to the successful lobbying of Carinthia and other affected regions that Austria has made a commitment to the EU to complete the Koralm Railway on the Styrian-Carinthian border - for which there are additional possibilities for co-financing by the EU - at the latest by the end of 2030. Therefore, the regulations on the guidelines for the Trans-European Transport Networks (TEN-T guidelines) adopted in 2013 and the "Connecting Europe Facility (CEF)" regulation, which constitutes regulations for the European financing of the Trans-European Networks, are the relevant EU laws. Both regulations serve to establish transport infrastructures in the European Union that are fair to the domestic market.


A review of the trans-European transport network is currently underway. Such regular reviews aim at taking account of growing transport demand, geopolitical developments and changing transport policy challenges (e.g. liberalisation, standardisation, technological innovation). Furthermore, the co-legislators, the Council of the EU and the European Parliament, are currently debating the EU transport policy after 2020. For the period of 2021-2027, the EU Commission proposes to strengthen the environmental dimension of the Connecting Europe facility, so that it contributes 60% of its funds to climate protection goals. The aim is to strengthen the Energy Union, help the EU meet its commitments under the Paris Agreement on Climate Change and consolidate Europe's global leadership in tackling climate change.

logo

eu-verkehrspolitik

Die EU-Verkehrspolitik hilft, die europäische Wirtschaft in Gang zu halten, indem sie ein modernes Infrastrukturnetz entwickelt, das Reisen schneller und sicherer macht und dabei umweltfreundliche und digitale Lösungen fördert. Als Eckpfeiler der europäischen Integration ist der Verkehr von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Verwirklichung des freien Warenverkehrs, der Dienstleistungs-freiheit und der Personenfreizügigkeit.


Da relevante Entscheidungen im Bereich Verkehrspolitik auf europäischer Ebene getroffen werden, ist Lobbying auf EU-Ebene auch in diesem Bereich von zentraler Bedeutung. Ein besonders wichtiges verkehrs-, umwelt- und wirtschaftspolitisches Thema für das Land Kärnten ist seit Jahren das Projekt der Baltisch-Adriatischen Achse mit dem Herzstück Koralmbahn. Es ist nicht zuletzt dem erfolgreichen Lobbying des Landes Kärnten sowie anderer betroffener Regionen zu verdanken, dass sich Österreich gegenüber der EU verpflichtet hat, bis spätestens Ende 2030 die Koralmbahn an der steirisch-kärntnerischen Grenze fertig zu stellen, wofür es zusätzliche Möglichkeiten auf Ko-Finanzierung durch die EU gibt. Die relevanten EU-Gesetze sind die 2013 erlassenen Verordnungen zu den Leitlinien für die Transeuropäischen Verkehrsnetze (TEN-V Leitlinien) und die Verordnung „Connecting Europe Facility (CEF)“ erlassen, die Regelungen für die europäische Finanzierung der Transeuropäischen Netze darstellt. Beide Verordnungen dienen der Errichtung von binnenmarkt gerechten Verkehrsinfrastrukturen in der Europäischen Union (EU).


Gegenwärtig läuft eine Überprüfung des transeuropäischen Verkehrsnetzes. Mit solch regelmäßigen Überprüfungen will man der wachsenden Verkehrsnachfrage, den geopolitischen Entwicklungen und den sich wandelnden verkehrspolitischen Herausforderungen (z. B. Liberalisierung, Normung, technologische Innovation) Rechnung tragen. Ferner debattieren die Co-Gesetzgeber Rat der EU und Europäisches Parlament derzeit die EU-Verkehrspolitik nach 2020. Für den Zeitraum 2021-2027 schlägt die EU-Kommission vor, die ökologische Dimension der Fazilität „Connecting Europe“ auszubauen, sodass sie mit 60% ihrer Mittel zu Klimaschutzzielen beiträgt. So will man die Energieunion stärken, der EU helfen, ihren Verpflichtungen aus dem Pariser Klimaschutzübereinkommen nachzukommen, und Europas globale Führungsrolle bei der Bekämpfung des Klimawandels festigen.