logo

Activities of the EU-Representation Office

For almost 25 years, the EU-Representation Office has been representing Carinthia's interests at the European level. Receiving early information on current EU projects as well as building and maintaining strong networks and alliances with the European Commission - both at Commissioner and cabinet level and with the Directorates-General - and with the European Parliament, are crucial to this. Among the means by which Carinthia's voice is heard in EU policy, are bilateral and multilateral meetings, speeches at conferences of the European Commission and other expert groups, as well as the presentation of Carinthian points of view in public hearings. Furthermore, bilateral contacts with EU institutions, in particular with the European Commission, but also with the Council of the EU, representations, regional offices, EU associations etc., which have been established over many years, are part of the daily business. The EU-Representation Office of Carinthia is also a member of numerous working groups, in which representatives of the Austrian and German federal governments meet regularly to exchange views on current topics in European policies (such as EU regional policy, EU agricultural policy or EU environmental policy).


The EU-Representation Office also has an important communicative role, which is particularly important in times of change and permanent negotiations (free trade agreements, the refugee crisis, etc.). Through the Brussels office, not only general information about the EU and how it works, but also important first-hand, up-to-date information, can be communicated to Carinthia at an early stage in order to act in Carinthia's interests on site. The EU-Representation Office therefore is Carinthia's eye and ear to EU affairs, on the one hand, and the extended arm and voice of all members of the Carinthian government, on the other. The EU-Representation Office of Carinthia is also the point of contact for all other EU institutions, representations or lobbying offices, which are in regular contact with the region of Carinthia. In this way, the EU-Representation Office can provide concrete up-to-date information on Carinthia-specific EU issues, identify the need for action at an early stage and form coalitions.


The Baltic-Adriatic axis can be highlighted as a particular success of the Carinthian EU-Representation Office. Thanks to the intensive efforts of Carinthia and other participating regions since 2004, the Baltic-Adriatic Axis, with the Koralm Railway (Ger.: Koralmbahn) at its heart, has become one of the most important European transport corridors in the core network of the Trans-European Transport Networks (TEN-T), and thus, became part of European legislation. With the adoption of the new EU regulations at the end of 2013, EU financing from the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) became possible for the expansion of the Koralm Railway.

logo

tätigkeiten des vbb kärnten

Seit fast 25 Jahren vertritt das VBB die Interessen Kärntens auf europäischer Ebene, wozu der Erhalt frühzeitiger Informationen über aktuelle EU-Vorhaben sowie der Aufbau und Erhalt starker Netzwerke und Allianzen mit der Europäischen Kommission – sowohl auf Kommissar- und Kabinettebene als auch zu den Generaldirektionen – und mit dem Europäischen Parlament entscheidend sind. Zu den Mitteln, mit denen Kärntens Stimme in die EU-Politik einfließt, zählen unter anderem bi- und multilaterale Treffen, Redebeiträge bei Konferenzen der EU-Kommission und anderen Expertengruppen sowie das Einbringen von Kärntner Positionen in öffentlichen Anhörungen. Weiters zählen bilaterale Kontakte zu den EU-Einrichtungen, insbesondere zur Europäischen Kommission, aber auch zum Rat der EU, zu Vertretungen, Regionalbüros, EU-Verbänden etc., welche über viele Jahre aufgebaut werden konnten, zum Tagesgeschäft. Das VBB Kärnten ist ferner Mitglied in zahlreichen Arbeitskreisen, zu denen sich Vertreter der österreichischen und deutschen Bundesländer regelmäßig treffen, um sich zu aktuellen Themen in den europäischen Politiken (etwa der EU-Regionalpolitik, der EU-Agrarpolitik oder der EU-Umweltpolitik) auszutauschen.

Das Verbindungsbüro hat zudem eine wichtige Kommunikationsfunktion, die gerade in Zeiten des Wandels und von permanenten Verhandlungen (Brexit, Freihandelsabkommen, Strategien zur Bewältigung der Flüchtlingskrise etc.) besonders wichtig ist. Durch das Brüsseler Büro können nicht nur allgemeine Informationen über die EU und ihre Funktionsweise, sondern auch wichtige aktuelle Informationen aus erster Hand frühzeitig nach Kärnten kommuniziert werden, um vor Ort im Sinne Kärntens zu handeln. Das Verbindungsbüro ist also einerseits Auge und Ohr Kärntens am EU-Geschehen und andererseits verlängerter Arm und Sprachrohr aller Mitglieder der Kärntner Landesregierung. Es beweist besondere Bürgernähe, steht es doch in engem Kontakt mit der Heimat – mit Vertretern aus Politik, Wirtschaft und den Medien sowie natürlich mit den Kärntnerinnen und Kärntnern. Andererseits ist das Brüsseler Büro auch Ansprechpartner für alle anderen EU-Einrichtungen, Vertretungen oder Lobbyingbüros, die mit dem Bundesland Kärnten regelmäßig in Kontakt treten. So kann das Verbindungsbüro konkret aktuelle Informationen zu Kärnten-spezifischen EU-Themen liefern, früh den Handlungsbedarf erkennen und Koalitionen bilden.

Als besonderer Erfolg des Verbindungsbüro Kärnten kann etwa die Baltisch-Adriatische Achse hervorgehoben werden. Durch intensive Bemühungen Kärntens und anderer beteiligter Regionen seit 2004 fand die Baltisch-Adriatische Achse mit dem Herzstück Koralmbahn als einer der wichtigsten europäischen Verkehrskorridore in das Kernnetz der Transeuropäischen Verkehrsnetze (TEN-V) Einzug und wurde somit Teil der europäischen Gesetzgebung. Mit der Annahme der neuen EU-Verordnungen Ende 2013 sind nunmehr EU-Finanzierungen aus der Fazilität Connecting Europe (CEF) für den Ausbau der Koralmbahn möglich.